AASD Leadership


AASD is governed by an Executive Advisory Council (EAC) whose members are elected annually by APHSA’S state and local public agency membership. Members of the EAC serve staggered, two-year terms, and are elected at AASD’s annual education conference.

AASD Bylaws
The bylaws in the link below apply to the affinity group American Association of SNAP Directors (AASD) as established within and staffed by the American Public Human Services Association (APHSA). The bylaws are intended to support the affinity group in carrying out its purpose, serving its target audience, organizing its leadership body and establishing its operating processes. The bylaws are in conformance with and subject to the APHSA governing bylaws.
View AASD Bylaws (Revised August 2020)

AASD 2023-2024 Members


Linda Schroeder, Administrator, Benefits Support Team
AZ Department of Economic Security


Melissa Wolf, Deputy Director, Family Support Division
MO Department of Social Services

Secretary and Treasurer

Larry Braasch Deputy Division Director
NJ Division of Family Development

Immediate Past Chair


AASD Regional Representatives

Mid-Atlantic Region Representatives

Anthea Seymour, Administrator, Economic Security Administration
DC Department of Human Services

Michele Thomas, SNAP Program Manager
VA Department of Social Services

Midwest Region Representatives

Betsy Suver, SNAP and Cash Policy and Technical Assistance, Family Assistance Division
OH Department of Job and Family Services

Kathy Bruen, SNAP Manager/Director
MN Department of Human Services

Mountain Region Representatives

Shannon Grotrian, Children & Family Services
NE Department of Health and Human Services

Teri Chasten, Division Deputy Director, Food & Energy Assistance
CO Office of Economic Security

Northeast Region Representatives

Wendy DeMarco, Director of Food and Nutrition Policy
NY Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance

Aletha Cross, Food & Nutrition Administrator
VT Department for Children and Families

Southeast Region Representatives

Michelle Joyner, State Director SNAP/EBT
TN Department of Human Services

Erika Anderson, Director, Division of Program Support
SC Department of Social Services

Southwest Region Representatives

Matthew Conley, Program Administrator, SNAP/LIHEAP
OK Department of Human Services

Allison Rigsby, SNAP Director
LA Department of Children and Family Services

Western Region Representatives

Angela Aikins, Food Programs and Policy Administrator, Community Services
WA Department of Social and Health Services

Andrea Brayboy, CalFresh and Nutrition Branch Chief
CA Department of Social Services


At-Large Representatives

At-Large Representative 1

Daniel Giacomi, Program Oversight and Grant Administration Division Director
CT Department of Social Services

At-Large Representative 2

Kristin Matthews, Bureau Chief
ID Department of Health and Welfare

APHSA Staff Liasion

APHSA Staff Liasion

Chloe Green, Senior Policy Associate, Food and Nutrition Services
American Public Human Services Association